The Utah-Salt Lake Chapter of ARMA became a member chapter on July 18, 1980.

If you have any historical information on the chapter that you would like to provide, please contact Haley Dunkley at

Educational Opportunities

Over the years, this chapter has been proactive in providing its membership with educational opportunities. These opportunities usually came in the form of monthly chapter meetings. However, some came in the form of seminars. Past seminars provided by the chapter have included:

  • 1998 — Innovative Records Management: Thinking Outside the Box
  • 1999 — Records Work: A celebration of National Records Month. This seminar was held at Weber State University and was so successful that it received an award from ARMA International.
  • 2000 — Electronic Records
  • 2004 — Time and Opportunities * Success in Managing Records
  • 2006 — Information Management in the Court Room: A Mock Trial
  • 2008 — Bridging the Gap: Managing Paper and Electronic Records
  • 2009 — Rocky Mountain SharePoint Conference (in partnership with AIIM Intermountain Chapter)
  • 2010 — Records Management Success: Build and Leverage Your Networks
  • 2011 — Successful Records Management: Build and Leverage Your Network
  • 2012 — From Records Management to Information Governance
  • 2013 — Partnering for Information Governance
  • 2015 — Information Governance: To RIM and Beyond 
  • 2017 — Going Back to Basics: Practical Solutions for Everyday RIM
  • 2018 — Practical Solutions: Because Records Matter!
  • 2019 — Are your records ROTting? Learn how to take out the e-trash!
  • 2020 — Records Management: Keeping the Conversation Fresh
  • 2021 — The Great Adaptation: Setting New Records by Leading Through Change  

Service Projects

In addition to educational content, the chapter has made an effort, particularly in recent years, to provide service projects related to records management. Some of these service projects have included:

  • UMCOR — At the closing socials in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013, Chapter members put together birthing kits and donated them to UMCOR (United Methodist Committee on Relief). These kits provided the essential items to promote a safe, clean delivery and to encourage good aftercare.
  • Ogden City Cemetery — This project involved chapter members walking around the cemetery and recording information on headstones for input into a computer system.
  • Utah State Archives — One project involved chapter members assisting the state archives in foldering and organizing past Governor photographs, as well as 2002 Olympic photographs. A recent project involved the cleaning and maintenance of old records.
  • CAWS — This project involved chapter members assisting an organization, CAWS, organize a records management program. CAWS is an organization that helps homeless pets.
  • Chapter Records — This project involved chapter members identifying chapter records, cataloguing those records, and creating a retention schedule.
  • No More Homeless Pets in Utah — Drafted Records Policy, Retention Schedule and conducted a records clean-up day.
  • Utah Food Bank — Donated $10 for every paid registrant at 2009 Seminar. 
  • ARMA International Education Foundation — The chapter provides financial and fund-raising support for this organization. The chapter donated $215 to the member scholarship fund in 2021.
  • Salt Lake County Open Space & Urban Farming — The chapter worked with officials to weed at the Little Confluence Open Space.
  • Heritage Museum of Layton — In 2022 the chapter aided Annie Bommer, the Museum’s Director, in sorting old records and research so it could be uploaded onto their website for researchers.
  • USANA KidsEat — In 2023 members worked with the Usana Foundation packing meals for children facing food insecurity.

Chapter Leadership

Our chapter presidents as we know them are listed below. Chapter presidents from early in our history are not clear. Below is what our information currently says. As we research to recover some of this history, we will update this page.

1980/1981Dennis Wilde
1981/1982Brian Winterowd
1982/1983Ken Exeter
1983/1984Robert Wood
1984/1985Dave Gillette
1985/1986Dave Kartchner
1986/1987Gwen Moore
1987/1988Jeff Johnson
1988/1989Gene Priday
1989/1990James Nowa
1990/1991Jeff Johnson
1991/1993Doc Kivett
1993/1995Wayne Harper
1995/1997Marilyn Harmiston
1997/1998Gerri Bradford
1998/1999Terry Ellis
1999/2000Scott Whittaker
2000/2001Bruce Bailey
2001/2002Michael Miles
2002/2003 Jeanette Parker
2003/2004DeAnne Wallwork
2004/2005Chris Calton
2005/2006Sonya Kintaro
2006/2007Daryl Downs
2007/2008 Rori Clark
2008/2009Virgina Loader
2009/2010David Fleming
2010/2011Marcie Fujikawa
2011/2012 Lauren Nathanson
2012/2013Ryan Stock
2013/2014Leah Wood
2014/2015Joshua Bullough
2015/2016Howard Loos
2016/2017Chris Calton
2017/2018Bonnie Banks
2018/2019Amanda McClellan
2019- 2021Todd Johnson
2021/2022Kendra Yates
2022/2023Haley Dunkley
2023/2024Renée Wilson

Chapter of the Year Award

Award presented by ARMA International

2003/2004 Chapter of the Year